Waubonsie Valley Named PLTW Distinguished School

INDIANAPOLIS – Waubonsie Valley High School’s Project Lead the Way (PLTW) program was named as a Distinguished School.

Technology & Engineering Education teacher Matt Zawlocki works with a student in Woods Fabrication class. (photo credit / WVTV)

PLTW is a national nonprofit organization that provides education and pathways in computer science, engineering, and biomedical science for PreK-12 students.

At Waubonsie Valley, the PLTW program is part of the school’s Technology and Engineering Education department and includes classes such as engineering design, digital electronics, architecture and aerospace engineering. Teachers Bianca Banich, Steve Meyer, Alex Hurst, Matt Ristow and Matt Zawlocki led the courses.

PLTW’s recognition program is designed to honor schools committed to increasing student access, engagement, and achievement in their PLTW programs. To be eligible for the designation, Waubonsie Valley had to meet multiple criteria in the 2022-23 school year. The PLTW Distinguished District recognition is a one-year designation that emphasizes PreK-12 student engagement. The recognition is based on the number of PLTW curricular offerings available to students, the number of students engaged in PLTW, and student success in their PLTW coursework.

“We are honored to recognize Waubonsie Valley for their commitment to providing students with exceptional educational experiences while ensuring equitable access to PLTW programs,” said Dr. David Dimmett, PLTW President and CEO. “We congratulate them on this achievement and celebrate their dedication to empowering students with the knowledge and skills to succeed, not only in STEM subjects, but also preparing them for future careers and life outside of the classroom.”

It is the fifth consecutive year that Waubonsie Valley has earned the honor and is one of only 13 Illinois High Schools to achieve Distinguished status.