Project Lead the Way Recognizes Waubonsie Valley Program

Waubonsie Valley teacher Matt Ristow works with a student in one of the school’s
Project Lead the Way courses. (photo credit / WVTV)

INDIANAPOLIS – Waubonsie Valley High School’s Project Lead the Way (PLTW) program was recognized as a Distinguished School for 2020-2021.

PLTW is a national nonprofit organization that provides education and pathways in computer science, engineering, and biomedical science for PreK-12 students.

At Waubonsie Valley, the PLTW program is part of the school’s Technology and Engineering Education department and includes classes such as engineering design, digital electronics, architecture and aerospace engineering. Teachers Steve Meyer, Alex Hurst, Matt Ristow and Matt Zawlocki lead the courses.

PLTW’s recognition program is designed to honor schools committed to increasing student access, engagement, and achievement in their PLTW programs. The PLTW Distinguished District recognition is a one-year designation that emphasizes PreK-12 student engagement. The recognition is based on the number of PLTW curricular offerings available to students, the number of students engaged in PLTW, and student success in their PLTW coursework.

It is the third consecutive year that Waubonsie Valley has earned the honor and is one of only ten Illinois High Schools to achieve Distinguished status.